Board of Education Members

From Left: John Downey, Phil Nofziger, Karen Beck, Roel Galvan, Jeremy Hurst

Jeremy Hurst, President
Roel Galvan, Vice President
Phil Nofziger

John Downey
Karen Beck


Current Board Meeting Report

August 12, 2019

Superintendent Report

Upcoming Events

Staff Work Days 8/19 & 8/20

Students First Day of School 8/21/19

Other Items of Interest

SRO - Archbold Area Schools would like to welcome Nate Slough of the Archbold Police Department as our new School Resource Officer.

OFCC Update

Archbold currently ranks 429th on the 2019 equity rank list with a local share of 71%.

Due to the extended timeline, we are looking into the Expedited Local Partnership Program (ELPP).

OFCC will create a District-wide Master Facility Plan based on the building assessment and enrollment projection reports. 

The Building Assessment Report is a comprehensive study of the District’s existing building conditions. 

When evaluating buildings the OFCC uses a 2/3rds renovate/replace guideline that states if the cost of renovating a building is over 67% of the cost of a new building, then the recommendation would be to build new. It is anticipated that the Middle School will exceed 67% as it is nearly 100 years old.

Current legislation stipulates that no state funds can go into a building with fewer than 350 students. 

In ELPP, the ½ mill maintenance is not a requirement. 

HB 66- Ohio’s Biennial Budget Bill Highlights

Current formula is suspended- same basic aid for FY 2020 and FY 2021 as FY 2019.

Student Wellness and Success Funds

028 Correction- we should receive a credit from ODE for the deducted amount.

Increased State minimum salary for teachers

End-of-Course Exams/Report Cards/Graduation Requirements


Archbold Area Schools Board Meeting Minutes for August 12, 2019

Approved July 15, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes.

Approved July 15, 2019 Special Meeting Minutes.

Approved July 2019 Financial Reports.

Approved a review and acceptance of Career Advising Policy (Board Policy No. 2413).

Approved bus routes for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved the appointment of Roel Galvan as Board representative for the 2019 OSBA Annual Business Meeting and appoint Phil Nofziger to serve as alternate.

Approved 2019-2020 Wood County Juvenile Detention Education Program Contract, $75/day.

Approved a one-year supplemental contract for Jennifer Kidder as Girls Soccer Coach for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved one-year supplemental contracts for Phil Bontrager (33.4%), Ali Garcia (33.3%), and Jon Lantz (33.3%) as Boys Soccer Coaches for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved Adam Cobb as a Marching Band Volunteer for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved a one-year contract for Mark Miller as sub bus driver for the 2019-2020 school year pending background check and all requirements for bus driver certification are successfully met.

Approved Todd Grosjean as a volunteer golf coach for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved a one-year contract for Susan Crawford as Elementary Cook for the 2019-2020 school year.

Approved list of certified bus/van drivers for the 2019-2020 school year, having met all certificate requirements pursuant to Board Policy. (Exhibit)

Approved a one-year contract for the following student workers for the 2019-2020 school year; Adam Walker, Mason Babcock, Jacob Beaverson, Carson Meyers, Zeke Miller, Kylie Sauder, Lucia Rodriguez, Tony Grime, and Matthew Gladieux.

Approved a one-year contract for Emily Walker as a student worker for the 2019-2020 school year effective October 3, 2019.

Accepted the resignation of Alan Miller as bus driver effective the end of the 2018-2019 school year.

Approved John Downey as a volunteer Jr. High Football Coach for the 2019-2020 school year pending all requirements and certifications are successfully met.


Elementary Principal Report

Middle School Principal Report

High School Principal Report

Curriculum Director Report